ICSA Jersey Awards 2016 Winners Announced at Annual Dinner


Winners of the ICSA Jersey Awards 2016 were celebrated along with the recent academic achievements of ICSA graduates and students at the sell-out black tie ICSA Jersey Annual Dinner held at the Hotel de France last week (Friday, 30th September 2016).

“We were delighted to have such a fantastic turnout, our largest yet, to celebrate the academic achievements of our local members and students, whilst also applauding the success of the Awards winners,” said Robert Le Corre, ICSA Jersey Chairman.  “Participation in the ICSA Jersey Awards has grown year on year. This bodes well for the profession since these are the company secretaries and administrators of the future,” he added.

The Dinner also marked the 125th anniversary of ICSA. Founded as the Institute of Secretaries in 1891 the institute changed its name to the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators in 1971 to better reflect the profession of its members. Today, ICSA: The Governance Institute, has a worldwide presence, representing about 34,000 members and students in 80 countries, including over 800 in Jersey.

Mr Le Corre commented: “Good governance benefits companies, large and small, by establishing a framework of processes and attitudes that add value to the business, help build its reputation and ensure its long-term continuity and success. The need for governance professionals who support and advise the boards of organisations in all industries and sectors has never been more relevant than it is today.

The ICSA Jersey Awards 2016 were sponsored by BPP Professional Education, Brainloop, Rowlands Recruitment, Sator Regulatory Consulting, and ZEDRA, all keen supporters of ICSA Jersey and its members. 

The Awards were judged by a panel of industry experts and the winners were:

  • Company Secretarial Officer of the Year

Winner – Claire de la Haye of Mourant Ozannes

  • Corporate Services Team of the Year

Winner – Crestbridge


  • Administrator of the Year

Winner – Amanda Smith of Estera


  • Administration Team of the Year

Winner – Capita Asset Services


  • Governance Award of the Year

Winner – Computershare Offshore


  • Risk and Compliance Award

Winner – Elian Corporate Services


  • The One to Watch

Winner – Michael Reed of Computershare Offshore

  • The Student Excellence Award, based on examination performance was won by Danielle Sangan of Elian Private Wealth.

Mr Le Corre, who sat on the Judging Panel along with David Rees, CFO of the Channel Islands Co-operative Society and Helen Hatton, MD of Sator Regulatory Consulting, commented: “Well done to the teams and individuals at Mourant Ozannes, Crestbridge, Estera, Capita Asset Services, Computershare Offshore, Elian Corporate Services, and Bedell Group for their outstanding nominations.  We were very impressed indeed with the professionalism and technical excellence demonstrated by all of the participating organisations, teams and individuals.  It really does show the valuable work they do.”

In addition to the announcement of the ICSA Jersey Awards 2016 winners, the Dinner celebrations recognised the students present who have recently completed the various stages of their ICSA qualifications. Local and international prize winners who have excelled in their ICSA examination papers over the last year were also recognised, with a presentation of a certificate by ICSA CEO, Simon Osborne. 

The prize winners who achieved the highest mark internationally in their respective papers included: Rebecca-Claire Myles of Bedell Group, Danielle Sangan of Elian, Melissa Vitalini of Langham Hall, Sarah Pirouet of Bedell Group, and Nicole Chapon of Bedell Group.

The local prize winners who were applauded were:

Danielle Sangan for the Best Jersey Completion of the IFA Level 4 Certificate.

  • Danielle also achieved the Best Overall Completion; this achievement secured her the Student Excellence Award.
  • Rudi Howard and Elizabeth Epifanio were recognised for Best Jersey Completion of the Diploma in Offshore Finance and Administration (DOFA), and Best CSQS Completion respectively, although both were unable to be at the dinner.

The Graduation Ceremony, which was supported by ICSA UKRIAT President, Frank Curtiss, celebrated the recently qualifying Jersey-based ICSA Graduates, and new Associates and Fellows of the Institute, including Adam Wintle GradICSA; Carola Palitschka GradICSA; Natalie Cole GradICSA; Jennifer Harrop GradICSA; Chandelle Newcombe ACIS; Melody Pallot ACIS; Richard Parkin ACIS; Tom McKenna ACIS; Grace Taylor ACIS; Monika Chandlen ACIS; Gabriela Jakubczyk ACIS; Valerie Cunliffe FCIS; and ICSA Jersey Chairman, Robert Le Corre FCIS.

Lord (Daniel) Finkelstein OBE proved to be a popular Guest Speaker sponsored by ZEDRA; and a Charity Draw with prizes from the Hotel de France, Ayush Wellness Spa, and Healthhaus raised £1,453.75 for Help a Jersey Child.

Celebrations continued into the early hours with local DJ Warren Le Sueur.

The date for the 2017 Annual Dinner, Awards & Graduation will be announced shortly.